Friday, January 15, 2010

NEA Jazz Masters 2010 Awards Ceremony and Concert, Jazz at Lincoln Center, N.Y.C., January 12th, 2010

All photo credits/copyrights: E. Joyce Glasgow (with the exception of my photo documentation of NEA Jazz Masters archival photos on display in the lobby, by Tom Pich and others for the NEA.)

The National Endowment for the Arts bestowed its annual NEA Jazz Masters Awards at a ceremony and concert at the lovely Rose Theater at Jazz at Lincoln Center, in New York City, on January 12th, 2010. The Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra played throughout.

The NEA Jazz Masters 2010 are George Avakian
(Producer/Manager/Critic/ Jazz Historian/Educator), Muhal Richard Abrams (Pianist/ Composer/Educator), Kenny Barron (Pianist/Composer/Educator), Bill Holman (Composer/Arranger/Saxophonist), Bobby Hutcherson (Vibraphonist/Marimba Player/Composer), Yusef Lateef (Saxophonist/Flutist/Oboist/Composer/Educator), Annie Ross (Vocalist/Lyricist) and Cedar Walton (Pianist/Composer).
Photos are over the course of the concert and post-concert reception and include portraits of the 2010 recipients, past NEA Jazz Master recipients and other fantastic jazz musicians and friends. NEA Jazz Masters pictured here are Randy Weston, Cecil Taylor, Jimmy Heath, Gerald Wilson, Lee Konitz, Jimmy Cobb, David Baker, Dr. Billy Taylor, Muhal Richard Abrams, George Avakian, Yusef Lateef, Annie Ross, Bill Holman, Bobby Hutcherson and Cedar Walton. Musical colleagues pictured include vocalist, Cynthia Scott, pianist George Cables, percussionist, Adam Rudolph, saxophonist, Javon Jackson and musical advocate, Maxine Gordon, wife of the late NEA Jazz Master, Dexter Gordon.
For more information on the NEA Jazz Masters visit For more information on Jazz at Lincoln Center visit

No comments:

Post a Comment