Thursday, January 19, 2012

Preview- New York Nightlife Awards to Celebrate Tenth Anniversary on January 30th, 2012 at Town Hall, NYC, with Star- Studded Evening of Performances


The New York Nightlife Awards to Celebrate Tenth Anniversary with an Evening of Star-Studded Performances on January 30th, 2012 at Town Hall, N.Y.C.

By E. Joyce Glasgow,

Photo Credits/Copyrights from the 2009 and 2010 Nightlife Awards after-party celebrations by E. Joyce Glasgow

The annual Nightlife Awards each January, at Town Hall,, in New York City, give audience members a crash course in some of the best artists on the scene in cabaret, jazz, comedy and musical theatre in New York City all performing in one, really entertaining, chock-full and exciting evening.

The premise of the Nightlife Awards is very unusual, in that rather than giving acceptance speeches, award recipients each perform instead, on the bill, along with other stellar invited artists. Each year participants, who have MC'd, or performed, have come from the best of the entertainment world, including such luminaries as Liza Minnelli, Patti LuPone, Eartha Kitt, Judy Gold, Bruce Vilanch, Nellie McKay, Elaine Stritch, Alan King, Robert Klein and Kristen Chenoweth.

The awardees are nominated and determined by a rounded group of New York arts critics, with expertise in the different genres voted on and include iconic critic, Rex Reed and representatives from a large number of media outlets including Time Out New York, the New York City Jazz Record and All About Jazz.

This year's event sounds particularly exciting, with performances by 2012 Nightlife winners and NEA Jazz Masters, phenomenal jazz pianist, Randy Weston and Vocalese innovator, jazz singer, Jon Hendricks, (of Lambert, Hendricks and Ross fame), now 90 years old and one of the most youthful, joyful and energized people you could ever imagine meeting or see performing. Christine Lavin, witty, comedic, prolific singer/songwriter will appear, as well as cabaret singer/songwriter, Amanda McBroom. The show will be MC'd by actor/cabaret artist, Lucy Arnaz and Tony Award winning actor, Bill Irwin. More 2012 award winners' names will be announced between now and the night of the the event, January 30th.

The Nightlife Awards were created and are produced by Scott and Barbara Siegel, who are New York based arts critics and authors. Scott Seigel has also created a number of innovative performance events which have infused the New York music/cabaret scene with new energy and have shown a deserved spotlight on talented artists. These include Broadway by the Year, co-produced with New York's Town Hall, Jim Caruso's Best of Cast Party, Broadway Unplugged and various themed cabaret shows, in conjunction with the Birdland Jazz Club and cabaret room, Feinstein's, at the Regency Hotel.

Included below are press photos of Jon Hendricks, Randy Weston, Amanda McBroom and Christine Lavin from the producer, Scott Siegel's website as well as two You Tube videos, one of Jon Hendricks and one of Randy Weston.